skip navigation

Heat trio selected in Conference XI awards

By Jason Mack | Laredo Heat SC, 07/22/22, 4:15PM CDT


The Laredo Heat SC had goalkeeper Connor Durant, defender Lewis Wilson and forward Kristian Colaci recognized in the NPSL's Conference XI awards for the Lone Star Conference.

Durant, Wilson and Colaci honored in Lone Star Conference

The Laredo Heat SC had three players selected in the Conference XI awards in the Lone Star Conference announced Friday by the National Premier Soccer League with goalkeeper Connor Durant, defender Lewis Wilson and forward Kristian Colaci all honored.

The awards are determined by a fan vote and recognize one goalkeeper, three defenders, four midfielders and three forwards.

Laredo finished 10-2-3 this season as it was eliminated Wednesday in the regional semifinals. The Heat fell 6-5 in eight rounds of penalty kicks after playing to a scoreless draw on the road against the Tulsa Athletic.

Durant earned the honor in his lone year with the team after leading the way in net for the No. 1 defense in the NPSL. Durant played the entirety of the 15 games this season and allowed just eight total goals while posting nine clean sheets. Durant allowed more than one goal only once all season. His 0.57 average goals allowed is first in the league by a wide margin, and he even had an assist.

Wilson, Laredo’s captain and center back, earned the honor for the first time after being recognized earlier this year as an NPSL Team of the Month selection for May. He was a key part of the defense along with Durant as they led the Heat to a lengthy scoreless streak at the end of the season. The streak lasted the entire playoff run and part of the regular season as Laredo did not allow a goal over the final 467 minutes plus added time. Wilson also contributed offensively with three goals and two assists.

Colaci was a steady offensive threat who commanded consistent attention from the defense. He finished as the Heat’s leading scorer with nine goals, and he added a pair of assists.

Durant, Wilson and Colaci now advance as nominees for the Region XI team, and an update will be provided when voting is live for those honors.

Defender Liam Morrison, midfielder Roberto Ordonez (five goals, five assists) and head coach John Powell were finalists for the conference honors.

FC Brownsville head coach Jose Avila earned the award after leading the Explorers to a runner-up finish in the conference in the regular season. The Heat claimed the regular season title in part thanks to a 2-0 win over the Explorers at home and a 1-1 draw in Brownsville as Laredo finished two points ahead in the standings. Brownsville finished 8-4-1 closing out its season with a loss on penalty kicks to San Antonio in the playoff opener, and Laredo beat the Corinthians 3-0 to claim the postseason conference championship.

The other players honored were defenders Robbie Jenkinson (Irving) and Cesar Hinojosa (San Antonio), midfielders Ismael Pineda (Brownsville), Luis Espino (San Antonio), Carlos Santa Maria (Denton) and Marx Mora (Fort Worth), and forwards Joe Conway (Irving) and Pablo Galitero (Lubbock).

Visit and follow @laredoheatsc on social media to stay up to date on the latest news. Any youth players interested in joining the academy can visit for more information.

Most Popular

News Sponsor

Visit Website

Connor Durant

Lewis Wilson

Kristian Colaci